Are You Tall Enough to be Cabin Crew?

One of the questions we are frequently asked by prospective crew is 2Am I tall enough to be cabin crew?

Height is indeed part of the job requirement that needs to be met. Generally, the average height for cabin crew, depending on the airline is somewhere between 159cm (5 feet, 2 inches) and 189cm (6 feet, 2 inches). However a lot of airlines now conduct reach tests, where you are required to reach, with your arm extended up to a certain height. You are permitted to stand on tiptoe to carry out this test.

The reason for the restrictions on height and reach are related to safety

A lot of the aircraft’s safety and emergency equipment is stowed in overhead lockers or to the back of deep stowages & cupboards and this is why you are required to have an extended arm reach, to enable you to get hold of the equipment, should the need arise. Airlines have their own minimum arm reach requirement based on the aircraft you will be trained to work on, but on average they will require that you reach within the region of 208cm (6ft 9 inches) and 214cm (7 feet).

Below is a table listing some of the airline minimum requirement height or reach test requirements.

Airline

Website

Height restriction

Reach restriction

Aer Lingus flights aerlingus.com/careers/careers-in-the-air/cabin-crew/#/tab-2-essential-criteria between 5’2″- 6’2″
Air Tanker airtanker.co.uk 5’2″
British Airways jobs.ba.com/jobs/vacancy/find/results 5’2″
Air New Zealand – London Based Crew airnewzealand.co.uk/london-based-flight-attendants#requirements 160 – 185cm Reach test will be conducted at interview
Flybe flights flybe.com/careers/cabin-crew 5’2″
Ryanair careers.ryanair.com/cabin-crew/ 5’2″
Jet2 jet2careers.com/cabin-crew/ 5’2″
easyJet careers.easyjet.com/cabin-crew/recruitment-process/ 5’3″(160cm) – 6’3″ (190cm)
Loganair flights loganair.co.uk/about/careers/ 5’2″
bmi regional flights bmiregional.com 5’2″
Thomas Cook Airlines careers.thomascook.com/go/Airline/1285001/ 5’2″
Thomson Airways tuijobsuk.co.uk/work-at-tui-travel/thomson-airways/cabin-crew/cabin-crew-requirements/ Able to reach to a height of 6’2″ (188cm approx)
Titan Airways titan-airways.com/careers.html 5’2″ (157.5cm)
BA CityFlyer bacityflyerjobs.com 5’2″
Cello Aviation flycello.com No restrictions but you do need the ability to reach the emergency equipment and operate all emergency exits.
Eastern Airways easternairways.com/ 4’8″
Virgin Atlantic careersuk.virgin-atlantic.com/customer-services/cabin-crew 5’2″ (157.5cm)
Volotea volotea.com/en/recruiting/cabin-crew/ 5’2″ (157.5cm)
Emirates Airlines emiratesgroupcareers.com/cabin-crew/ 160cm Reach at least 212cm
Qatar Airways careers.qatarairways.com/qatarairways/vacancysearch.aspx Reach at least 212cm
Etihad Airways careers.etihad.com/Etihad/go/Cabin-Crew-Jobs/716001/ Reach at least 210cm
Fly Dubai careers.flydubai.com/landingpages/cabin-crew-opportunities-at-flydubai-21 158cm
Cathay Pacific, London Based Crew jobs.cathaypacific.com Minimum arm-reach of 208cm
Qantas London based cabin crew qantas.com/travel/airlines/flight-attendants/global/en 163 – 183cm.

The above table is correct as of 10/2017

Show More

Michele

Michele is current serving long haul cabin crew & also an associate travel & tourism lecturer at Exeter College. Having worked within the aviation industry for over 30 years, both in the UK and the Middle East, she has a wealth of industry knowledge and experience to share with us here at Cabin Crew Wings.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Cabin Crew Assessment Day ebook
Cabin Crew Assessment Day ebook
Bought by helen from United Kingdom (UK)
about 1 month ago
 
Cabin Crew Assessment Day ebook
Cabin Crew Assessment Day ebook
Bought by Samara from United Kingdom (UK)
about 3 weeks ago
 
Cabin Crew Course Store
Cabin Crew Wings 2 Day Course - 25-26th November 2017 + 1 Item
Bought by Sheila from United Kingdom (UK)
about 2 weeks ago
 
cabin crew recruitment alert
Cabin Crew Recruitment Alert
Bought by Helen from United Kingdom (UK)
about 2 months ago
 
Cabin Crew Assessment Day ebook
Cabin Crew Assessment Day ebook
Bought by Gaspare from United Kingdom (UK)
about 1 month ago
 
Close